County Courts (S. N. S. 1945, c. 5).—There are seven county court districts in Nova Scotia and a county court and judge for each district. The judges are appointed by the Governor General in Council. Each court has criminal jurisdiction and jurisdiction in civil cases up to 1,000, but no jurisdiction where any devise or bequest is disputed.

Probate Courts (R.S. N.S. 1923, c. 217).—By the Probate Act, the county court judges are ex officio judges in probate. Probate matters are decided in the first instance by a registrar of probate and appeals may be taken to the probate judges. A registrar of probate is appointed for each county.

Magistrates.—There are 48 stipendiary magistrates and nine provincial magistrates, all appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. They have limited eriminal jurisdiction and civil jurisdiction up to \$100.

Minor Courts of Civil Jurisdiction.—These consist of courts established pursuant to city charters, municipal courts and justices courts.^{*} The city and municipal courts have jurisdiction up to \$100 and justices courts have jurisdiction up to \$20 singly or up to \$80 when two justices are sitting.

Juvenile Courts (S. N.S. 1950, c. 2).—The Child Welfare Act provides for the establishment of juvenile courts and the appointment of juvenile court judges. The courts exercise jurisdiction in juvenile matters under provincial statutes and are also juvenile courts under the federal Juvenile Delinquents Act. There are seven juvenile court judges.

New Brunswick.—Supreme Court (R.S. N.B. 1952, c. 120).—The Supreme Court of New Brunswick has three divisions, namely, an Appeal Division, a Chancery Division and a Queen's Bench Division. The Appeal Division consists of a chief justice, who is known as the Chief Justice of New Brunswick, and two other judges. The Chancery Division consists of three judges who are the judges of the Appeal Division. The Queen's Bench Division consists of a chief justice and three other judges. The Appeal Division has general appellate jurisdiction throughout the Province and the Queen's Bench Division has unlimited original jurisdiction, throughout the Province, in civil and criminal matters except in chancery. All judges are appointed by the Governor General in Council.

Court of Divorce and Matrimonial Causes (R.S. N.B. 1952, c. 63).—This Court was established by a pre-Confederation statute which has continued in force to date. It has divorce jurisdiction only. There is one judge who is appointed by the Governor General in Council.

County Courts (R.S. N.B. 1952, c. 45).—The Province is divided into counties with a county court for each county or group of counties. There are six county court judges, appointed by the Governor General in Council. These courts have criminal jurisdiction, jurisdiction in contracts up to \$1,000 and jurisdiction in damage actions up to \$500. They have no jurisdiction where title to land is brought in question or the validity of any devise or bequest is disputed.

Probate Courts (R.S. N.B. 1952, c. 175).—A Probate Court is established by provincial Act for each county and each such court is presided over by a judge appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. They have jurisdiction over estates.